Must-See Films: 1-10

As a writer, it should come as no shock that reading is a love of mine. The two go hand in hand. To write is to read, for how can one not appreciate others of the same art? Books, pamphlets, fellow blogs, magazine articles: they all are wonderful things to peruse and dissect.

Even with a love for reading, I have just as much a love for movies. Well, maybe I should rephrase that: I have a passionate love for well-made movies. Movies that can stand the test of time and rival the works of classic authors. Movies that can plunge you into the deepest depression and have you curled up in a ball crying like a child, and then ten minutes later send you into pure ecstasy and have you laughing uncontrollably. Movies that make your head hurt from a complicated plot and require your utmost attention. These types of films are so valuable to culture that one cannot go through life without seeing them. Thus, I have compiled a list of films that I consider to be cultural contributions which aid both the mind and soul. By no means is this comprehensive, as I have not seen every film made. These are just ones that stand out in my memory as masterpieces. Also notice I did not say this list was of the best films made; a 100 Best Films list is not my aim. There are many movies I thoroughly enjoy that I find to be “better” films, but they are made purely for entertainment purposes. These films do much more than entertain.

 

-Dead Poets Society


Dead Poets Society is the first movie on my Must-See list because I find it to be one of the most inspiring movies that is not based on a novel (which is the case with most well-made films). Centered around the students and life of a traditional Vermont preparatory school, a very unorthodox instructor inspires his students to “live life deliberately” and to “suck out all the marrow of life.” This movie will take you on a roller-coaster of emotions, and the last scene will leave you in awe of the human spirit.

 

-Schindler’s List


Schindler’s List is probably the most depressing film ever created, but sadly, it is not so because of creativity; it is depressing because it is a documentation of the atrocities of the Holocaust. This movie will take you on a journey with a group of Polish Jews from the very beginning of World War II to the Russian Liberation of Poland. It will shock you, disturb you, and leave you thankful for your life. Above all else, this movie will teach you this important lesson: “Whoever saves one life, saves the world entire.”

 

-My Dog Skip


My Dog Skip
 is an example of something I call a “Modern Classic.” It showcases the life of a young boy in Yazoo, Mississippi and his adventures with his best friend. ON the surface, this movie may appear a bit shallow, but I dare you to call its themes the same. My Dog Skip will teach you the value of unconditional love and never-wavering friendship. Warning: the ending of this movie will leave you bawling and using a whole box of tissues.

 

-The Notebook


I may be biased because this movie was filmed in the lowcountry, but The Notebookranks at the top of my favorite movies. And yes, I say that with full confidence, my fellow gentlemen. I’ll shout it from the rooftops: THE NOTEBOOK IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES!!! There, now we can move on. The Notebook is a beautiful story of two lovers who are connected by a forbidden love à la Romeo and Juliet, albeit with a Southern flair. Be it the entrancing music, the seductive scenery, or the rousing dialogue: this movie is guaranteed to have an emotional impact on your soul.

 

-The Passion of the Christ


As you may know, I am a Christian. I may not mention it much on this page, but my faith is an integral part of my being. I don’t claim to be the most religious person, nor do I ever feel compelled to say I am a “good” Christian. I fail every day in my faith, but somehow God still shows me love. With the aforementioned now in the open, I find myself at odds with the contemporary Christian culture; I find many aspects of modern theology to be fake and cheesy and I often find myself in arguments with fellow believers. However, I believe this film to be one of the greatest modern additions to Christianity. The Passion of the Christ does not portray Jesus as a white man with baby blue eyes, and a friend to all things European. The Jesus portrayed in this film is a man of anguish, love, suffering, and triumph. It shows the brutality of His precious death, the tenderness of His mother at the foot of His cross, and the majesty of His glorious resurrection. Therefore, I highly recommend this film to all who wish to see a depiction of Jesus different from the image most people try to communicate.

 

-The Cider House Rules


Though a newcomer to my list, I find this movie worthy to add. This movie does not have the most exciting of plots, but The Cider House Rules is a movie that connects you to the characters in a way that they become your friends; thus, their struggles and hardships are felt in the very depths of your heart. You feel the pain of death, the disappointment of never being chosen, and the fear of uncertainty. Because of this ability, I recommend The Cider House Rules as a must-see.

 

-La Vita e’ Bella (Life Is Beautiful)


Usually when one is shown a film in school, he or she will dismiss it as something to remember; however, this film will always stand out as a favorite in my memory. Centered around the life of Italian Jews, La Vita e’ Bella, or Life Is Beautiful, teaches you the value of finding the positives in a world of negativity. Even though Guido and his young boy faced death every single day, Guido somehow found a way to hide this fact from his son and turn it into a game.

 

-Doubt


The Catholic part of me finds this film far too stereotypical, but it also makes the issue of child molestation in the church much more real. Set in New York in the middle of the twentieth century, Doubt takes you into the inner life of a Catholic school in which the stoic and harsh principal, Sister Aloysius Beauvier, suspects Father Brendan Flynn of having a relationship with a troubled student. She and Sister James carry out an impromptu investigation in which they try to prove the Father guilty. Thoughout the film are several riveting scenes that will haunt your soul, especially the scene with Viola Davis, the confrontation scene with Meryl Streep and Philip Seymour Hoffman, and the final scene with Amy Adams and Meryl Streep.

 

-The Patriot


This may be another film with South Carolinian bias, but this movie is worthy of viewing from all Americans. The Patriot follows the life of a colonial man who is forced to fight for his country’s independence to provide a better life for his family. Though this film is historically fictional, the themes, character traits, and motivations of the characters are as true as it gets. This film is a must-see if you want to learn the backstory of the American Revolution. Note: the final battle scene will make you want to run through the streets with a flag in hand shouting “AMERICA!!!!” Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

 

-O Brother, Where Art Thou


This is by far the most comical addition to the must-see list, but it is also a movie I consider a “Modern Classic.” Written as the Southern version of Homer’s Odyssey,O Brother, Where Art Thou follows the lives of escaped convicts Everett, Pete, and Delmar. You are guaranteed to laugh until you cry, but in addition to that, you will also see very strong themes that permeate the life of American Southerners around the Depression Era.

Leave a comment